Debate Competition 2017

The Inter House Debate competition was held on 7th of July 2017. This year’s topics were ‘For reasons of security, this house supports army action in Jammu & Kashmir’ and ‘This house opposes the country-wide practice of tweaking marks (moderation)’. The participants from Senior School were required to speak either for or against the topic for five minutes, followed by a question session by the judges. The judges for the competition were Wing Commander Unni Nair and Mrs. Bhavani Raghnandan.

Narmada and Sutlej tackled the first topic. Narmada was represented by Prithvi Srivatsav, Aashish Krishna and Surabhi Gopal who spoke for the topic while Sutlej was represented by Siddhanth Amarnath, Samay Gambhir and Armaan Om Goyal who spoke against the topic.

Godavari and Cauvery spoke on the second topic. Cauvery was represented by Vikrant Vivek, Meera Vijay and Aakash Jajoo who spoke against the topic while Godavari represented by Raghav Mecheri, Kunal Agarwal and Shreeniketh Raghavan spoke for the topic.

The results were announced and Godavari placed first, followed by Sutlej in second position and, Narmada who finished third. For his excellent debating skills and good answers, Siddhanth Amarnath of Sutlej was declared the Best Speaker.

Annual Debate Competition Archives

Connect with Sishya



ADYAR, CHENNAI – 600 020

+91 44 24912652, +91 44 24919544